Government of Serbia

The Government of Serbia ( Serbian : Влада Србије / Vlada Srbije ), formally the Government of the Republic of Serbia ( Serbian : Влада Републике Србије / Vlada Republike Srbije ), is commonly abbreviated to Serbian Government ( Serbian : Српска Влада / Srpska Vlada ), is the executive branch of government in Serbia .

The affairs of government are decided by the Cabinet of Ministers, which is led by the Prime Minister .


According to the Constitution of Serbia , the Government:

  • Determines and guides policy
  • Execute laws and other general acts of the National Assembly
  • Adopts regulations and other general acts for the purpose of enforcing laws
  • Proposed to the National Assembly the laws and other general acts and gives an opinion
  • The work of the public and their work
  • Performs other duties determined by the Constitution and the law

Also, the Government is responsible for the National Assembly for the policy of the Republic of Serbia, for the implementation of laws and other general acts of the National Assembly and for the work of state administration bodies.

Incumbent government

Main articles: Cabinet of Ana Brnabić and Serbian parliamentary election, 2016

The incumbent Cabinet was sworn on 29 June 2017 by a majority vote in the National Assembly . It is the first cabinet of Ana Brnabić , who became prime minister of the Prime Minister of Serbia Aleksandar Vučić resigned from the office to become the President of Serbia , following the 2017 presidential elections . The current cabinet is in the same position as the second cabinet of Aleksandar Vučić and has 21 members, with a ministry and 3 without portfolio .

List of ministers

Nominating party: SPS SNS n-p SNS -nominated) SDPS SNS -nominated) PS SNS -nominated) SNP SNS -nominated) PUPS SNS -nominated)

portfolio Minister Took office
Prime Minister
General Affairs Ana Brnabić 29 June 2017
Deputy Prime Ministers
Foreign Affairs Ivica Dačić 27 April 2014
Construction, Transportation and Infrastructure Zorana Mihajlović 27 April 2014
Internal Affairs Nebojša Stefanović 27 April 2014
Trade, Tourism and Telecommunications Rasim Ljajić 27 July 2012
Agriculture, Forestry and Water Economy Branislav Nedimović 11 August 2016
Culture and Information Vladan Vukosavljević 11 August 2016
Defense Aleksandar Vulin 29 June 2017
Economy Goran Knežević 11 August 2016
Education, Science and Technological Development Mladen Šarčević 11 August 2016
Environmental Protection Goran Trivan 29 June 2017
European Integration Jadranka Joksimović 29 June 2017
Finance Dušan Vujović July 15, 2014
Health Zlatibor Lončar 27 April 2014
Justice Nela Kuburović 11 August 2016
Labor, Employment, Veteran and Social Policy Zoran Đorđević 29 June 2017
Mining and Energy Aleksandar Antić 27 April 2014
Public Administration and Local Self-Government Branko Ružić 29 June 2017
Youth and Sports Vanja Udovičić 2 September 2013
Ministers without portfolio
Innovations and Technological Development Nenad Popović 29 June 2017
Regional Development Milan Krkobabić 11 August 2016
Violence Prevention and Protection of Children and the Disabled Slavica Đukić Dejanović 11 August 2016

Government history

List of governments of the Republic of Serbia

Assumed office Prime Minister Party in Office
11 February 1991 Dragutin Zelenović Socialist Party of Serbia Cabinet of Dragutin Zelenović
23 December 1992 Radoman Božović Cabinet of Radoman Božović
February 10, 1993 Nikola Šainović Cabinet of Nikola Šainović
March 18, 1994 Mirko Marjanović Cabinet of Mirko Marjanović I
March 24, 1998 Mirko Marjanović Cabinet of Mirko Marjanović II
October 25, 2000 Milomir Minić Cabinet of Milomir Minić
January 25, 2001 Zoran Đinđić
Zoran Živković
Democratic Opposition of Serbia Cabinet of Zoran Đinđić
March 3, 2004 Vojislav Koštunica Democratic Party of Serbia Cabinet of Vojislav Koštunica I
May 15, 2007 Vojislav Koštunica Cabinet of Vojislav Koštunica II
7 July 2008 Mirko Cvetković Democratic Party Cabinet of Mirko Cvetković
27 July 2012 Ivica Dačić Serbian Progressive Party Cabinet of Ivica Dačić
27 April 2014 Aleksandar Vučić Cabinet of Aleksandar Vučić I
11 August 2016 Aleksandar Vučić Cabinet of Aleksandar Vučić II
29 June 2017 Ana Brnabić Cabinet of Ana Brnabić

Governmental agencies and offices

Government of the Republic of Serbia within its ministries and institutions. [2] [3] These are the services that operate within the Government of the Republic of Serbia (as of December 2017): [4] [5]

  • Secretary-General Office of the Government of Serbia
  • Office for Cooperation with Media
  • Agency for human resources management
  • Airline service of the Government of Serbia
  • Directorate for joint affairs of republic authorities
  • Coordination body of Serbia for the municipalities of Preševo , Bujanovac and Medveđa
  • Office of the National Security and Protection of Classified Information
  • Office for Cooperation with Civil Society
  • Audit Office of the European Union Asset Management System
  • Office for Human and Minority Rights
  • Office for Kosovo and Metohija
  • Office for Coordination Affairs in the Negotiation Process with the Provisional Institutions of Self-Government in Pristina
  • The Office of the Council for Cooperation with the Russian Federation and the People’s Republic of China
  • Office of Drugs Control
  • Public Investment Management Office
  • Office of Information Technology and Electronic Administration

See also

  • Elections in Serbia
  • National Assembly


  1. Jump up^ „ZAKON O BUDETU REPUBLIKE SRBIJE ZA 2018. GODINU“ . (in Serbian). Službeni glasnik RS . Retrieved 14 January 2018 .
  2. Jump up^ „Srbija rekorder u broju agencija“ (in Serbian). B92. December 17, 2011.
  3. Jump up^ „Republičke agencije, zavodi i druge organizacije“ (in Serbian).
  4. Jump up^ „Година LXXIII – број 61“ . (in Serbian). Službeni glasnik RS. 23 June 2017 . Retrieved 18 December 2017 .