Government of Slovakia

The Government of the Slovak Republic ( Slovak : Vláda Slovenskej Republiky ) is the head of the executive branch of state in Slovakia .

It is led by the Prime Minister of Slovakia , who is nominated by the President of Slovakia , and is usually the leader of the majority party or majority of the coalition after an election to the National Council of the Slovak Republic . The Cabinet appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Prime Minister must gain a vote of confidence in the National Council.

Role and powers of the Government

The Summer Archbishop’s Palaceis the seat of the Government

As the chief formulator of the nation’s public policy under the Slovak Constitution , the Government has the authority to make major policy on the matters of national economy and social security. [1] Acting in the best interests of the nation, it is responsible for meeting the government program objectives within the scope of the national budget. The functions of the government also include making proposals on the state budget, preparing the annual closing balance sheet, and issuing government regulations. One of the Government’s duties is the formulation and management of the nation’s foreign policy. [1] It submits draft Bills to the National Council(the Slovak parliament), which are frequently preceded by national discussions and consultations with the relevant organizations. As established by law, the Government may discuss in its proceedings a confidence vote motion, cases of pardoning criminal offenders, and appointment or removal of office of senior civil servants. [1]


The Cabinet is made up of the Prime Minister, presiding over it, its own Deputies and Government Ministers. The Cabinet is appointed by the President of the Slovak Republic on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. The members of the Cabinet are responsible for the National Council (the Slovak Parliament).

Current Cabinet

Following the Slovak parliamentary election, 2016 , the current prime minister, Robert Fico , has been serving with his government, the Third Fico Cabinet , since 23 March 2016. [2]

Cabinet of Slovakia [3]
Office name Political party Assumed office Left office
Prime Minister Robert Fico Smer-SD 23 March 2016
Deputy Prime Minister for Investments and Informatization Peter Pellegrini Smer-SD 23 March 2016
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister for Interior
Robert Kaliňák Smer-SD 23 March 2016
Deputy Prime Minister
Minister for Justice
Lucia Žitňanská Most-Híd 23 March 2016
Minister of Finance Peter Kažimír Smer-SD 23 March 2016
Minister of Foreign Affairs Miroslav Lajčák Independent ( SD ) 23 March 2016
Minister of Economy Peter Žiga Smer-SD 23 March 2016
Minister of Transport, Construction and Regional Development Roman Brecely 
Árpád Érsek
23 March 2016
31 August 2016
31 August 2016
Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Gabriela Matečná Independent ( SNS ) 23 March 2016
Minister of Defense Peter Gajdoš Independent ( SNS ) 23 March 2016
Minister of Labor, Social Affairs and Family Ján Richter Smer-SD 23 March 2016
Minister of the Environment László Solymos Most-Híd 23 March 2016
Minister of Education, Science, Research and Sport Peter Plavčan 
Martina Lubyová
Independent ( SNS )
Independent ( SNS )
23 March 2016
13 September 2017
September 13, 2017
Minister of Culture Marek Maďarič Smer-SD 23 March 2016
Minister of Health Tomáš Drucker Independent ( SD ) 23 March 2016
This box:

  • view
  • talk
  • edit
(SD) Nominated Smer-SD
(SNS) Slovak National Party nominee


  1. ^ Jump up to:c „Government of the Slovak Republic“ . .
  2. Jump up^ „New government meets for first time, state secretaries“ . The Slovak Spectator . 31 March 2016 . Retrieved 2 April 2016 .
  3. Jump up^ „Meet Slovakia’s new cabinet“ . The Slovak Spectator . 22 March 2016 . Retrieved 2 April 2016 .