Democracy in Europe Movement 2025

The Democracy in Europe Movement 2025 , or DiEM25 , is a pan-European political movement launched in 2015 by former Greek finance minister Yanis Varoufakis and Croatian Philosopher Srećko Horvat . The movement was officially presented at a ceremonial event held on 9 February 2016 in the Volksbühne Theater in Berlin [2] and on the 23 March in Rome. [3] The movement aims to reform the European Union’s existing institutions to create a “full-fledged democracy with a sovereign national parliaments, regional assemblies and municipal councils”. [4] The movement is supported by intellectuals, activists such as Julian Assange , founder of WikiLeaks , prominent American linguist and political activist Noam Chomsky , Italian philosopher Antonio Negri , Dutch sociologist Saskia Sassen , American economist James K. Galbraith , train Labor MP Stuart Holland and Slovenian philosopher Slavoj Žižek , among others. Read More…

Copyright 2022
Shale theme by Siteturner