North-South Prize

The North-South Prize is awarded annually by the North-South Center of the Council of Europe to two public figures who are recognized for their deep commitment, outstanding achievements and hope they have generated in the field of protection of human rights , the defense of pluralist democracy and North-South partnership and solidarity. The prize originated in 1995 and is known to the Lisbon North-South Prize.

Call for candidates and selection

The „quadrilogue“ (made up of governments, members of parliament, local and regional authorities, and non-governmental organizations from civil society) involved in overseeing the North-South Center of the Council of Europe, along with international and regional media representatives government organizations, are urged to name individuals or an organization whose activities are considered worthy of distinction. The call for candidates is made on its website and its Newsletters. The Center’s partners are similarly asked to inform their respective media organs. The file is for each member of the jury. After studying the files, the North-South Prize Jury makes a final decision on the candidates.

Candidate selection criteria

The Prize is awarded to a candidate from the North (Central and Northern Europe) and one from the South (Southern Mediterranean countries and Africa), preferably to a man and a woman. Candidates should be recognized in the following fields of action: human rights protection, defense of pluralist democracy, promotion of public awareness on issues, global solidarity and interdependence, and reinforcement of the North-South partnership. Candidates may be nominated for their achievements within the cultural, institutional and political fields.

North-South Prize Jury

The North-South Prize Jury is composed of the Members of the North-South Center and the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, under the presidency of the Chairman of the North-South Center. The Jury is helped by the Secretariat of the North-South Center.

The winners

year Recipients Country
1995 Peter Gabriel  United Kingdom
Vera Duarte  Cape Verde
1996 Danielle Mitterrand  la France
Algerian Women  algeria
1997 Mary Robinson  ireland
Patricio Aylwin  chile
1998 Graça Machel  mozambique
Lloyd Axworthy  Canada
1999 Emma Bonino  italy
Abderrahmane Youssoufi  Morocco
2000 Marguerite Barankitse  Burundi
Mario Soares  Portugal
2001 Maria of Nazaré Gadelha Ferreira Fernandes  brazil
Cornelio Sommaruga switzerland
2002 Albina du Boisrouvray  la France
Xanana Gusmão  East Timor
2003 Frene Ginwala  South Africa
António de Almeida Santos  Portugal
2004 Nawal El Saadawi  egypt
Stéphane Hessel  la France
2005 Bogaletch Gebre  ethiopia
Bob Geldof  ireland
2006 Mukhtaran Bibi  Pakistan
Francisco Van Der Hoff  Netherlands
2007 Kofi Annan  Ghana
Simone Veil  la France
2008 Jorge Sampaio  Portugal
Rania al-Abdullah  jordan
2009 Mihail Gorbachev  russia
Rola Dashti  kuwait
2010 Louise Arbor  Canada
Lula da Silva  brazil
2011 Boris Tadić  serbia
Souhayr Belhassen  tunisia
2012 Monika Hauser switzerland
Asma Jahangir  Pakistan
2013 Aga Khan IV  United Kingdom
Suzanne Jabbour  lebanon
2014 Maura Lynch  ireland
André Azoulay  Morocco
2015 Lora Pappa  greece
Joaquim Alberto Chissano  mozambique
2016 Giuseppina Nicolini  italy
Mbarka Brahmi  tunisia