Co-ordinated Organization

The expression Co-ordinated Organization refers to several international organizations that have a common system of remuneration and pensions, and who are members of the Co-ordination System.

List of Co-ordinated Organizations

There are currently six members of the Co-ordinated Organizations. On 31 March 2010, the Western European Union has been dissolved by the European Union and has been transferred to the European Union . EUMETSAT joined Co-ordination on 1 July 2012.

  • The Council of Europe (CoE) [1]
  • The European Center for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts ( ECMWF ) [2]
  • The European Space Agency (ESA) [3]
  • The European Organization for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT) [4]
  • The North Atlantic Treaty Organization ( NATO ) [5]
  • The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development ( OECD ) [6]
    • The Western European Union (WEU) [7] (Formerly a member of the Co-ordinated Organizations – Now defunct)

Role of Co-ordination

The Co-ordinated Organization system includes three different Committees:

  • The Co-ordinating Committee on Remuneration (CCR),
  • The Committee of Representatives of the Secretaries / Directors General (CRSG),
  • The Committee of Staff Representatives (CRP).

The three committees meet separately, as well as in bilateral and tripartite meetings.

The main role of the CCR is to provide advice and compensation to the Council of the Co-ordinated Organizations. Although all members of each organization may participate in the Committee, many choose for different reasons. Representatives generally from the respective governments‘ Finance, Interior or Foreign Ministries, or from national delegations to one of the Co-ordinated Organizations (see below).

The CRSG is composed of the Heads of Administration of the different organizations or their representatives in charge of remuneration matters. The CRSG prepares proposals and documents on remuneration and pensions for tripartite, bilateral or individual meetings of the committees.

The CRP includes staff from the various organizations and is represented at tripartite meetings with the CCR and the CRSG. The CRP has a consultative role.

The principal aim of the Co-ordination system is to provide recommendations on issues relating to the use of the Governing Bodies of the Co-ordinated Organizations, as well as their budget committees. These recommendations concern particularly:

  • Basic salary scales, and the method of their adjustment, for all categories of staff and for all members countries where they are active staff or recipients of a pension;
  • Pension Scheme Rules;

They also provide recommendations concerning the function, amount and method of adjustment of:

  • Expatriation allowance,
  • Household allowance,
  • Installation allowance,
  • Dependent’s allowance,
  • Daily subsistence allowance,
  • Kilometric allowance,
  • Expatriated child allowance,
  • Education allowance,
  • Allowance for a handicapped child.

The Co-ordinated Organizations have technical support section based in Paris at the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development : the International Service for Payments and Pensions (ISRP).

The ISRP is responsible for the management and review of all matters pertaining to the remuneration of staff and the Pension Scheme common to the Co-ordinated Organizations. The Service is made of four Units, whose functions revolve around four key activities:

  • pensions administration;
  • studies and analysis;
  • the management of pension reserve funds; and
  • overseeing the secretarial services of the co-ordinated organizations.

There are also 25 non-co-ordinated international organizations employing over 13,000 staff members who either apply the co-ordinated scales, or follow them closely.

Linguistic rules of the organizations

Source: „Information Report tabled by the delegation of the National Assembly for the European Union on linguistic diversity“, of Michel Herbillon, member of the French National Assembly.

Organization Official languages Recognized Working languages Most used language (s)
Council of Europe English, French English, French, German, Italian, Russian English
ECMWF [8] English, French, German English, French, German English
ESA [9] English, French English, French English
EUMETSAT [10] English, French English, French English
NATO English, French [Note 1] English, French English
OECD English, French English, French English

Other non-member institutions that observe similar rules

Around 25 „non-coordinated“ international organizations follow the co-ordinated scales or use them as a benchmark.

CERN European Organization for Nuclear Research Meyrin ( Canton of Geneva )
ECO European Communications Office ( European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations ) Copenhagen ( Denmark )
ECS Energy Charter Secretariat ( European Energy Charter ) Brussels (Belgium)
EFTA European Free Trade Association Geneva (Switzerland)
EMBL European Molecular Biology Laboratory Heidelberg (Germany)
EPO European Patent Organization Munich (Germany)
ESO European Southern Observatory Garching near Munich (Germany)
EUREKA E! Brussels (Belgium)
SatCen European Union Satellite Center Torrejón de Ardoz near Madrid (Spain)
GBIF Global Biodiversity Information Facility Copenhagen ( Denmark )
HCCH Hague Conference on Private International Law The Hague ( Netherlands )
HFSPO Human Frontier Science Program Organization Strasbourg (France)
ICC ( International Criminal Court ) The Hague ( Netherlands )
ITER Saint-Paul-les-Durance (France)
NASCO Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization Edinburgh (United Kingdom)
OCCAR Organization for Joint Armament Cooperation Bonn (Germany)
OSPAR Oslo and Paris Commissions London
PCA Permanent Court of Arbitration The Hague ( Netherlands )
SPC ( Secretariat of the Pacific Community ) Noumea
( New Caledonia , France)
UNIDROIT International Institute for the Unification of Private Law Rome (Italy)
WCO World Customs Organization Brussels (Belgium)
WTO World Trade Organization Geneva (Switzerland)
CEB ( Council of Europe Development Bank ) Paris (France)
OBS ( European Audiovisual Observatory ) Strasbourg (France)
IEA ( International Energy Agency ) Paris (France)
NEA ( Nuclear Energy Agency ) Paris (France)

See also

  • United Nations System


  1. Jump up^ selonArticle 9 of the North Atlantic Treaty: „English and French` shall be the official languages For the entire North Atlantic Treaty Organization „; and tothe North Atlantic Treaty Article 14: „(..) the English and French texts [of the Treaty] are Equally authentic (…)“


  1. Jump up^ „Council of Europe“ . .
  2. Jump up^ „ECMWF – Global Advancing NWP Through International Collaboration“ . .
  3. Jump up^ esa. „ESA“ . European Space Agency .
  4. Jump up^ „Welcome to EUMETSAT – EUMETSAT“ . .
  5. Jump up^ NATO. „Homepage“ . NATO .
  6. Jump up^ „ – OECD“ . .
  7. Jump up^ „Western European Union – Western European Union“ . .
  8. Jump up^ „ECMWF employment rules“ . ECMWF employment rules . ECMWF . Retrieved 30 March 2011 .
  9. Jump up^ „ESA employment rules“ . ESA employment rules . ESA . Retrieved 30 March 2011 .
  10. Jump up^ „EUMETSAT employment rules“ .