Association of European Border Regions

The Association of European Border Regions ( AEBR ) is an organization of European regions and deals with cross-border cooperation in Europe [1] and other continents. AEBR’s main office is based in Gronau ( North Rhine-Westphalia ), Germany. It aussi: has a Project’s Office in Berlin , an Antenna in Brussels (at the Office of Extremadura ) and Information Centers for Ukraine in Kharkiv (in cooperation with the Simon Kuznets National University of Economics ) and for the Balkans in Novi Sad(in collaboration with CESCI Balkans). It represents the interests of the European border and cross-border regions at European, national and regional levels.


The first initiative to create a „union for border regions“ was discussed in 1965 at the International Regional Planning Conference in Basel . After extensive preparation, ten border regions of Europe came together on June 17-18, 1971, and created a Standing Conference on European Border Regions which was later called „Association of European Border Regions“. [2] They elected Alfred Mozer as the first president at AEBR. [3]

President Inauguration End of Term
Alfred Mozer (1905-1979) 1971 1975
Horst Gerlach (1919-1990) 1975 1979
Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble (born 1942) 1979 1983
Dr. Karl Ahrens (born 1924) 1984 1996
Joan M. Vallvé (born 1940) 1996 2004
Lambert van Nistelrooij (born 1953) 2004 2009
Karl-Heinz Lambertz (born 1952) 2010 current president


AEBR supports European border and cross-border regions in order to:

  • make their particular problems, opportunities, tasks and projects intelligible
  • represent their overall interests towards national and international parliaments, other authorities and institutions
  • initiate, support and coordinate their co-operation throughout Europe
  • exchange experiences and information to formulate and coordinate common interests in the various problems and opportunities of border regions, and to offer solutions.
  • promote CBC structures, projects and programs
  • assist in the preparation of CBC events and other activities. [4]

In order to reach their objectives, AEBR works together with European level:

  • European Union
    • European Parliament
    • European Commission
    • Committee of the Regions
    • European Economic and Social Committee
  • Council of Europe
    • Parliamentary Assembly
    • Congress of the Council of Europe
    • Committee of Experts on border issues


General Assembly

The General Assembly votes in favor of the President and the Executive Committee, and the rate of approval of the organization. [5]

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the President, Treasurer and at least seven Vice-Presidents and twenty-one members of the Board of Directors. They are responsible for positions adopted by the AEBR on vital issues and cooperating with European and national institutions, organizations and associations. They are also responsible for appointing the Secretary General. The President (most ranking AEBR) represents AEBR externally and is also responsible for making joint decisions with the Secretary General. The Secretary General has the power and authority to represent AEBR. [6]

Subsidiary Bodies

The Association of European Border Regions may open forums, form committees and employ representatives of European and other political bodies, associations and social groups that receive an advisory capacity. AEBR also organizes task forces and working groups on different issues of interest for European border and cross-border regions of the European institutions and political committees, associations and society-related groups with an advisory role. The „Advisory Committee for cross-border cooperation“ is composed of scientists and stakeholders who advise AEBR in all matters relating to cross-border cooperation. This committee can also make proposals for cooperation in the area of ​​cross-border cooperation. [7]


AEBR formed on 100 border and cross-border regions, representing over 200 border regions within and outside the EU. Cross-border regions (eg Euregio ) and larger combinations (for example Greater Region Saar-Lor-Lux) clarification needed ] .

Full members

A cross-border region, border or associations of border regions within the European Union can apply to a full member with full voting rights. [8]

Non-voting members

Members without voting rights. When accepted as a non-voting member, they receive compliance status. Advisory members can also be non-voting members, who can be individuals, associations, institutions and institutes working in the area of ​​cross-border cooperation. [4]


The languages ​​mainly used in French, English, French, Polish, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and other languages ​​of member regions.


  • INTERREG IIIC RFO Project „Change on Borders“ (2003-2007)
  • Study on „Legal Instrument for Decentralized Cooperation“ for the European Commission (2003-2004)
  • ULYSSES-project within the ESPON Program (2009-2012)
  • GRUNDTVIG-project SCULTBORD (Spreading Culture on Border Regions) (2010-2012)
  • EU-project: Improving information for cross-border workers in European border regions (2012)
  • EU-projects: CBC in Latin America (2010, 2012, 2013)
    • Cross-Border Cooperation in Latin America. Contribution to the Regional Integration Process: permanent dead link ]
    • Cross-border co-operation in Latin America: support for integrated and sustainable development and cross-border co-operation in the Paraná axis development permanent dead link ]
  • EU-projects: CBC in Western Africa
    • Opportunities for Cross Border Cooperation in West Africa: a contribution to the regional integration process permanent dead link ]


  • Reviewed Maps „Cross-border Cooperation Areas“ (2007 and 2011)
  • Newsletter of AEBR (2004-2009)
  • Cooperation between European Border Regions. Review and Perspectives (2007)
  • Electronic Newsflash of AEBR (since 2009)
  • Discussion papers, opinions and proposals dealing with territorial approach, cohesion policy, transport, health, rural, mountainous and maritime areas, external borders etc.


  1. Jump up^ Kovziridze, Tamara (2008). Hierarchy and Interdependence in Multilevel Structures: Foreign and European Relations of Belgian, German and Austrian Federated Entities . Asp / VUBPRESS / Upa. p. 133. ISBN  9789054875369 .
  2. Jump up^ Hooper, Barbara; Kramsch, Olivier (2004). Cross-Border Governance in the European Union . Taylor & Francis. p. 175. ISBN  9780203563380 .
  3. Jump up^ Jens Gabbe and Dr. Viktor Frhr. von Malchus; Dr. Thomas Stumm (2008). „3.The Association of European Border Regions as an umbrella organization“. In Caitriona Mullan. Cooperation Between European Border Regions: Review and Perspectives. Baden-Baden, Germany: Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft. p. 16. ISBN  978-3-8329-3390-6 .
  4. ^ Jump up to:b Jens Gabbe and Dr. Viktor Frhr. von Malchus; Dr. Thomas Stumm (2008). „3.5 Statutes for Common Goals“. In Caitriona Mullan. Cooperation between European Border Regions: Review and Perspectives . Baden-Baden, Germany: Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft. pp. 23-24. ISBN  978-3-83293390-6 .
  5. Jump up^ „Organization of AEBR“ .
  6. Jump up^ Jens Gabbe and Dr. Viktor Frhr. von Malchus; Dr. Thomas Stumm (2008). „3.5 Statutes for Common Goals“. In Caitriona Mullan. Cooperation between European Border Regions: Review and Perspectives . Baden-Baden, Germany: Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft. p. 25. ISBN  978-3-83293390-6 .
  7. Jump up^ Jens Gabbe and Dr. Viktor Frhr. von Malchus; Dr. Thomas Stumm (2008). „3.5 Statutes for Common Goals“. In Caitriona Mullan. Cooperation between European Border Regions: Review and Perspectives . Baden-Baden, Germany: Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft. p. 24. ISBN  978-3-83293390-6 .
  8. Jump up^ „Membership“ .