Federal Agricultural Research Center

The Federal Agricultural Research Center ( FAL ) ( German : Bundesforschungsanstalt für Landwirtschaft ), headquartered in Braunschweig , was a federal authority of the Federal Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Consumer Protection . On January 1, 2008, FAL was split into the Johann Heinrich von Thünen Institute , the Julius Kuehn Institute and the Friedrich Loeffler Institute .

The Federal Research Institute for Agriculture was divided into four areas:

  • Soil / Plant (Plant Nutrition and Soil Science, Agronomy and Green Agriculture, Agro-Ecology)
  • Animal (animal nutrition, animal husbandry, animal welfare and animal husbandry)
  • Technology (technology and biosystems, engineering and construction)
  • Agricultural Economics (Business Administration, Rural Areas, Market and Agricultural Trade Policy)

There was also an Institute of Organic Farming in Westerau .


  • Institute for Plant Nutrition and Soil Science in Braunschweig
  • Institute for Crop and Green Agriculture in Braunschweig
  • Institute for Agricultural Ecology in Braunschweig
  • Institute for Organic Farming in Westerau
  • Institute for Animal Welfare Husbandry in Celle
  • Institute for Animal Nutrition in Braunschweig
  • Institute for Animal breeding in Mariensee (Neustadt am Rübenberge)
  • Institute for Technology and Biosystems in Braunschweig
  • Institute of Industrial Technology and Construction in Braunschweig
  • Institute of Management in Braunschweig
  • Institute for Rural Studies in Braunschweig
  • Institute for Market Analysis and Agricultural Trade Policy in Braunschweig