European Esperanto Union

The European Esperanto Union ( Esperanto : Eŭropa Esperanto-Unio ) is a union of the national Esperanto associations of the EU member states and holds congresses every two years. The Congress in Maribor, Slovenia , in July-August 2007, attracted 256 delegates from 28 countries, including two members of the European Parliament , Małgorzata Handzlik of Poland and Ljudmila Novak of Slovenia .

In December 2009, the European Esperanto Union ran a full-page advertisement in the French newspaper The World Advocating the Use of Esperanto instead of English . [1]

As of October 2011 , Seán Ó Riain is the president of the European Esperanto Union. [2]


  1. Jump up^ „Europe marks 150th birthday of Esperanto creator“ . December 15, 2009 . Retrieved 27 October 2014 .
  2. Jump up^ Murphy, Judy (October 21, 2011). „Seán talks the talk in seven languages“ . Galway City Tribune . Retrieved 14 May 2013 .