Emerald network

The Emerald Network is a network of nature protection areas to conserve wild flora and fauna and their natural habitats of Europe , which was launched in 1989 by the Council of Europe as part of its work under the Convention on the Conservation of European Wildlife and Natural Habitats or Bern Convention that came into force on 1 June 1982. It is to be set up in each Contracting Party or observe state to the Convention.

The Bern Convention is signed by the 46 member states of the Council of Europe , together with the European Union , Monaco , Burkina Faso , Morocco , Tunisia and Senegal . Algeria , Belarus , Bosnia and Herzegovina , Cape Verde, Vatican City , San Marino and Russia are among the non-signatories that have observed status at meetings of the committee.

The European Union , as such, is also a Contracting Party to the Bern Convention. In particular, it has been produced in the Habitats Directive in 1992 and subsequently set up the Natura 2000 network.

The development of the Emerald Network in Africa has started with the implementation of pilot projects in Burkina Faso, Senegal and Morocco (ongoing). The Emerald Network could also be launched in Tunisia, at the request of the national authorities.

See also

  • Ecological network


  • Emerald Network of Special Interest Areas
  • EEA – Glossary – Emerald Network December, 2005.
  • THE EMERALD NETWORK A tool for the protection of European natural habitats [1] [PDF]