EIROforum is an organization consisting of eight European intergovernmental scientific research organizations devoted to fostering mutual activities. Presided upon by the Director Generals of the individual organizations, who meets twice a year. the organization aims to identify mutual activities among its members to share resources in various fields.

The eight EIROforum members are:

  • CERN – European Organization for Nuclear Research
  • eurofusion
  • EMBL – European Molecular Biology Laboratory
  • ESA – European Space Agency
  • ESO – European Organization for Astronomical Research in the Southern Hemisphere
  • ESRF – European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
  • European XFEL – European XFEL Free-Electron Laser Facility
  • ILL – Laue Langevin Institute

Major Activities

The EIROforum plays a crucial role in establishing a European Research Area. It works closely with the European Union and national institutions and participates in shaping science policy in Europe. The member organizations engage in cutting-edge research activities and pool their substantial expertise in basic research.

The five major areas of activity are:

  • Science Policy
  • Research Collaborations
  • Outreach and Education
  • Human Resources
  • Technology

Some of its major achievements have been provided to a scientific research policy in Europe as part of the new treaty. In the technology area, for instance, Grid technology, among others IT technologies has been a driving force to bring closer collaboration on the sharing of a common infrastructure for the benefit of various fields of the member organizations; in particular: nuclear physics, astronomy and microbiology.

External links

  • EIROforum
  • Article in European Commission’s Magazine on European Research


  1. Jump up^ „Major European Intergovernmental Research Organizations Urge EU to Sustain Investment in Science“ . ESO Announcement . Retrieved 23 November 2012 .