Chamber of Local Authorities

The  Chamber of Local Authorities  is one of two Chambers of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe . The Chamber is the voice of local authorities in the Council of Europe. It consists of 324 representatives of the Council’s 47 member states, who is a general local authority The Chamber provides an opportunity for local officials to discuss common concerns.

According to the new Charter of the Congress adopted on May 2, 2007 by the Committee of Ministers, the Chamber’s membership is based on the principles of balanced geographical distribution, the equitable representation of the various types of local authorities and their political groups, as well as equitable representation of women and men. The Chamber drafts reports, recommendations, resolutions and opinions on the issues of its concern and presents them to the Standing Committee of the Congress for adoption.


Prior to the creation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe in 1994, the Conference of Local and Regional Authorities was in place. The first existence and idea of ​​a body addressing the issue of local government was proposed in 1957. This status was not created until 1961. control in the development of Europe. The behavior and actions of the chamber (along with the Chamber of Regions ) are based on the European Charter of Local Self-Government, which was opened for signature in 1985.


In October 2010, the Congress laid out its priorities for 2011-2012 as part of the reform process which included a change in its committee structure. The four priorities are the Institutional Committee, the Culture and Education Committee, the Committee on Social Cohesion and the Committee on Sustainable Development. The three newly created committees are the Monitoring Committee, the Governance Committee and the Current Affairs Committee. This change was approved in December 2010.

According to the Congress‘ official website:

Monitoring Committee

„The Committee on the Honoring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the European Charter of Local Self-Government – Monitoring Committee – is responsible, in particular, for monitoring the application of the Charter reports on the situation of local and regional democracy in Europe and for monitoring specific issues related to local and regional democracy in the member states. “

Governance Committee

„The Governance Committee is responsible for affairs falling within the scope of the Congress “ statutory mandate such as governance, public finance, cross-border and interregional co-operation and e-democracy and co-operation with intergovernmental bodies.

Current Affairs Committee

„The Current Affairs Committee is responsible for studying the role of local and regional authorities with regard to the major challenges of our society and preparing for thematic issues of social cohesion, education, culture and sustainable development from the point of view of the Council. of Europe’s core values. “

The Bureau

The Chamber elects its President among its members for two years, and appoints the Bureau composed of the President (currently Jean-Claude Frécon of France) and seven Vice-Presidents respecting as far as possible to fair geographic distribution among the member states. At the moment the Office is composed of (in order of protocol):

  • Anders Knape , Sweden (President)
  • Barbara Toce , Italy (Vice President)
  • Jolanta Barska , Poland (Vice President)
  • Jaroslav Hlinka , Slovak Republic (Vice President)
  • Gaye Doganoglu , Turkey (Vice President)
  • Mary Hegarty , Ireland (Vice President)
  • John Warmisham , United Kingdom (Vice President)
  • Juliana Hoxha , Albania (Vice President)

The Secretariat

The Chamber has a permanent Secretariat at the  Palace of Europe  in Strasbourg , which is headed by its Executive Secretary, currently Jean-Philippe Bozouls , appointed by the Secretary General of the Council of Europe .

List of Members

The Chamber consists of 324 statutory members (representatives and substitutes) from:

  • Albania (4)
  • Andorra (2)
  • Armenia (4)
  • Austria (6)
  • Azerbaijan (6)
  • Belgium (7)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina (5)
  • Bulgaria (6)
  • Croatia (5)
  • Cyprus (3)
  • Czech Republic (7)
  • Denmark (5)
  • Estonia (3)
  • Finland (5)
  • France (18)
  • Georgia (5)
  • Germany (18)
  • Greece (7)
  • Hungary (7)
  • Iceland (3)
  • Ireland (4)
  • Italy (18)
  • Latvia (3)
  • Liechtenstein (2)
  • Lithuania (4)
  • Luxembourg (3)
  • Macedonia (3)
  • Malta (3)
  • Moldova (5)
  • Monaco (2)
  • Montenegro (3)
  • Netherlands (7)
  • Norway (5)
  • Poland (12)
  • Portugal (7)
  • Romania (10)
  • Russia (18)
  • San Marino (2)
  • Serbia (7)
  • Slovakia (5)
  • Slovenia (3)
  • Spain (12)
  • Sweden (6)
  • Switzerland (6)
  • Turkey (18)
  • Ukraine (12)
  • United Kingdom (18)


  • Official website of the Congress of the Council of Europe
  • Charter of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities
  • European Charter of Local Self-Government
  • European Urban Charter
  • Council of Europe’s Committee Website